I've really tried, but...network woes...we're gettin' there!

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
kf4krv

I've really tried, but...network woes...we're gettin' there!

Post by kf4krv »

I'm really sorry to bug folks with this inquiry as I've seen similar questions asked and I've viewed several webpages pertaining to the questions. I'm a rank newbie to Linux but I guess I have a learning disability or something, too. Also, the questions are not all specifically Linux Mint related. I sincerely apologize for using the bandwidth.

My situation is an apparent simple one to folks that know what they're doing. I'm attempting to network a Windows XP Pro computer (and printer) with a Linux Mint computer.

I have managed to get a wireless connection between the Mint computer and the router established so that the Mint computer can access the internet. I have also managed to get the XP computer where it can see files on the Mint computer.

What I haven't been able to do, though, is configure the Mint computer to where it is able to see shared files/directories on the XP computer. I also have not been able to get the Mint computer to see the printer connected to the XP computer.